top of page

Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees


The Public Library of Johnston County and Smithfield is a nonprofit organization governed by a 12-member Board of Trustees with 6 positions appointed by the Town of Smithfield and 6 positions appointed by Johnston County.  The term of appointment is 3 years with re-appointments made at the approval of the town and county.  Meetings typically are held at 6:00 pm at the library and are open to the public unless a called closed Session is necessary.

2024 Board Meeting Dates:

  • January 22

  • March 25

  • May 20

  • July 22

  • September 23

  • November 25

Board of Trustees Members | You may click the chairperson's name to send them an email.

Chairperson Megan Shaner, Smithfield (County) Appointed 6/1/2015

Karen Collins, Smithfield (County) Appointed 9/18/2023

Connie Barbour, Smithfield (Town) Appointed 3/2/2021

Rick Childrey, Smithfield (Town) Appointed 5/2/2017

Kathryn Nicolai, Clayton (County) Appointed 6/5/2023

Emily Gail Scott, Smithfield (County) Appointed 6/20/2022

Jennifer Seagraves, Cleveland (County) Appointed 8/2/2021

Jane Shipman, Smithfield (Town) Appointed 1/7/2020

Gary Underwood, Smithfield (County) Appointed 8/1/2022

Vacancy, Smithfield (Town) Appointee

Vacancy, Smithfield (Town) Appointee

Vacancy, Smithfield (Town) Appointee

Interested in serving as a member of our Board of Trustees? 

To apply for one of the vacancies listed above, please visit the Town of Smithfield's Town Boards page for online application or downloadable application. 

bottom of page